This article will explain what media is in Cyrano and how you can access and modify it. To learn how to create media, please read this article instead.
What is Media?
In the context of Cyrano, media are raw recorded video messages, MP3s, or links that can be used to create programs. (See our article about Programs)
Accessing Your Media
- From the home page, access media by navigating to the Create tab in the left side menu.
- On this page, in the left side menu click the Media tab under Assets.
- From this page you can view all your media. The dropdown menu at the top will allow you to view all media throughout your entire organization. You can also choose to view Cyrano Stock from here. (See our article about Cyrano Stock)
To the right of each piece of media you’ll see its status:
Draft means the media isn’t finalized – it’ll be unavailable for use until it is completed.
Processing means Cyrano is currently finalizing your media. This can take a few minutes.
Available means the media is finalized and ready to use.
Live means the media is already in use, but you can still use it again.
Click the star icon underneath a piece of media’s name to save the media as a favorite. This will sort the media into a category called My Favorites, which is accessible through the dropdown menu at the top.
To the right of the star icon, you’ll find a menu icon. Clicking this offers a menu with many actions.
This option takes you to the Media Creation page, where you’ll be able to revise the media and/or finalize it for use. (See our article about Creating Media)
This option is only available for finalized media. Clicking Share Media opens the Sharing side menu where you’ll be given many choices for sharing the media with others. (See our article about Sharing)
This option is only available for finalized media. Clicking Create Program takes you to the Program Creation page, after giving you the option of starting from scratch or with a template. (See our articles about Creating Programs and Program Templates)
This option is only available for finalized media. Clicking Download Media immediately downloads the media to your hard drive, so you don’t have to go through the Sharing side menu.
This option is only available for finalized media. Clicking Download Transcription opens the Transcription side menu. At the top right, click the download icon to immediately download the transcription to your hard drive as a VTT, SRT, or TXT file. You can also access the Edit Captions page at the bottom of this menu, by clicking Edit. (See our article about Editing Captions)
This option creates a copy of your media, after confirming in a side menu.
This option opens a side menu which shows all the programs the piece of media is included in, as well as the status and author of those programs.
This option is only available for media in the Recycling Bin. Clicking Restore Media moves the media from the Recycling Bin into your regular media list.
This option moves the selected media into the Recycling Bin. Clicking Delete Media opens a side menu where you will be asked to confirm the action by typing out “DELETE” and then clicking the button. Media may be deleted only if it isn’t already being used in a program. Deleted media will be sorted into the Recycling Bin, which is accessible from the dropdown menu at the top of the Media page. Deleted media will stay in the Recycling Bin for 30 days before being permanently removed.
If this article did not fully answer any questions you have, please email us at email@example.com with your name, organization, and question(s). We will answer your question(s) within 24 hours and use your experience to improve this help page.